February 17, 2010

Swami Vivekananda 1.3.2

  • The First Steps

    •  Divided into 8: Yama- Non killing, truthfulness, non-strealing, continence and non-receiving of any gift; Niyam- cleanliness, contentment, austerity, study and self-surrender to God; Asana- posture; Pranayam- control of Prana; Pratyahara- holding back senses; Dhyana- meditation; & Samadhi- superconsciousness.
    • Without Yama and Niyama, no Yoga can be performed. Asana then will be excersizes in both the mental and physical as the straight body will help the spinal to function with the chest, neck and the head.
    • Hatha Yoga deals entirely with the physical body, and to make the physical body strong.
    • Pranayam- The mind whose dross has been cleared away by Pranayama, becomes fixed in Brahman; therefore Pranayama is declared. First the nerves are to be purified, then comes the power to practice Pranayama. Stopping the right nostril with the thumb, through the left nostril fill in air, according to capacity; then, without any interval, throw the air out through the right nostril, closing the left one. Again inhaling through the right nostril eject through the left, according to capacity; practicing this three or five times at four hours of the day, before dawn, during midday, in the evening, and at midnight, in fifteen days or a month purity of the nerves is attained; then begins Pranayama. Through this, the concentration of mind could be started.
    • Doubt comes to man but as he gains power, he achieves towards the absolute control of nature. The Self is neither the man, nor his mind but one that is beginningless and endless, immoveable and intagible, the omniscient and omnipotent Being. Men has the only power to attain salvation. Every other animal is created by Tamas. 
    • The breath is laying the hold of which through thoughts could be achieved to reach freedom. We know about the body but not about Prana.

      No comments:

      Post a Comment