April 02, 2010

Swami Vivekananda 1.3.5

  • Dhyana And Samadhi
    • It is the consciousness that tells that what is around us. Any action of the body could be taken into consciousness.
    • The human mind works in two feelings, feeling egoism in the conscious. For the unconscious, all the feeling are egoism which in lower animals is called instinct and in higher called conscious work prevails. When we sleep, we go beneath consciousness.
    • After consciousness, it is superconsciousness or Samadhi. A man who goes into Samadhi goes into as a fool and comes out as a sage. In superconsciousness, one is illuminated, becomes much higher and much higher than one with consciousness and reasoning. We then then look beyond the circle of reasoning and think outside.
    • One reaches the higher stage and beyond reasoning as in each places, it is introduced by different being. All of them have been through the superconscious stage.
    • One who have reached superconsciousness and came back bought back fanaticism. There are three states of mind in each, instinct, reason and superconsciousness.
    • After Pratyahara and Dharana, there comes Dhyana or meditation. When this meditation reaches internal part or the meaning, it is Samadhi. Dharana, Dhyna & Samadhi form Samyama.
    • We hear a sound, it is carried onto the mind, and then comes the reaction from the mind which changes from ethereal vibrations to mental reactions. They are called Shabda (sound, Artha (meaning) and Jnana (knowledge).
    • From external objects, the mind should be concentrated to internal. Samadhi is the highest stage for not only human beings but all animals until our souls becomes free.
  • Raja Yoga in Brief
    • From the Kurma Purana: From Yoga comes knowledge. Yoga of two parts, Abhava and Mahayoga. Abhava is when one is taken away from quality and Mahayoga is when one finds bliss throughout nature.
    • Yama, Niyama, Âsana, Prânâyâma, Pratyâhâra, Dhârâna, Dhyâna, and Samâdhi makes up Raja Yoga.
    • Yama- non-injury, truthfulness, non-covetousness, chastity, not receiving anything from another.
      • Ahimsa- never producing any offensive deed, injury, thought or word.
      • Asteya-never taking others' goods by force
      • Brahmacharya- chastity in thought, deed and word
      • Aparigraha- not recieving any present from anyone
    • Niyama- regular habits 
      • Tapas- austerity;  fasting, controlling the body
      • Svadhyaya- study; repeating mantras through verbal, semi-verbal (no sound heard but mouth moves), mental
      • Santosha- contentment;
      • Shucha- purity,
      • Ishvara- pranidhana
    • Asana- posture
      • Pranayam- prana (vital force) ayama (controlling them). 
        • Three types: simple, middle and very hard
        • Three parts: filling, restraining, and emptying
        • In each Pranayam, repeat three Gayatris, goal of Pranyam to control the Indriyas and fixing the mind on the center is called Dharana. 
        • Samadhi- When the complete mind has becomes one wave, one formedness
        • Dharana- Concentrating the mind for 12 seconds
        • Dhyna- 12 Dharans
        • Samadhi- 12 Dhyanas
        • Dhyna by sitting straight, concentrating on the tip of your nose
        • Meditate these ways:
          • Imagine a lotus upon the top of the head, several inches up, with virtue as its centre, and knowledge as its stalk. The eight petals of the lotus are the eight powers of the Yogi. Inside, the stamens and pistils are renunciation. If the Yogi refuses the external powers he will come
            to salvation. So the eight petals of the lotus are the eight powers, but the internal stamens and pistils are extreme renunciation, the renunciation of all these powers. Inside of that lotus think of the Golden One, the Almighty, the Intangible, He whose name is Om, the Inexpressible,
            surrounded with effulgent light.
          • Think of a
            space in your heart, and in the midst of that space think that a flame is burning. Think of that flame as your own soul and inside the flame is another effulgent light, and that is the Soul of your soul, God.
        • One Yogi is: "He who hates none, who is the friend of all, who is merciful to all, who has nothing of his own, who is free from egoism, who is even-minded in pain and pleasure, who is forbearing, who is always satisfied, who works always in Yoga, whose self has become controlled, whose will is firm, whose mind and intellect are given up unto Me, such a one is My beloved Bhakta. From whom comes no disturbance, who cannot be disturbed by others, who is free from joy,
          anger, fear, and anxiety, such a one is My beloved. He who does not depend on anything, who is pure and active, who does not care whether good comes or evil, and never becomes miserable, who has given up all efforts for himself; who is the same in praise or in blame, with a silent, thoughtful mind, blessed with what little comes in his way, homeless, for the whole world is his home, and who is steady in his ideas, such a one is My beloved Bhakta."
        • One day as Narada was going over to heaven, one man dancing and chanting, and other meditating in a ant hill who both asked when God will be merciful to them. He came back with the answers, one to be free in four more births and the other the number of leaves there are in tree, that many births. He heard this and jumped with joy, thus God declaring that he is free.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment